It’s Just Noise

To me, music has two genres. One of them is the beautiful art form. The poetry, the connotation, the restless voice. The “other” genre I speak of is just the songs created by money seeking pigs out there to exploit beauty through sound. You know what I’m talking about. These so called “artists” that follow the formula created by record companies to write a song thats so meaningless and disposable. When asked what I think about these money making machines, I reply forthright with “it’s just noise.”

I would be a hypocrite if I denied ever liking a song created for the purpose of making money. I’m merely stating my opinion of the current livelihood of the music industry. I think that phrase is the problem in itself. “Music Industry.” It should be more music and less industry. I’m not denying the fact that people need to protect their art. But sometimes the industry becomes more important than the actual art.

As for the first genre I spoke of….the art is displayed by an individual or a group of individuals for the sole purpose of being artistic and creative. Music can tell you a whole story in under three minutes. Music can make you feel several different emotions in just under three minutes. Something about a person’s voice combined with the strumming of a guitar is just perfect. I love music, even when sometimes it might just be a bunch of “noise.”

Alex H.

Leave a Reply

